Crafty / Decorating / Garden / Monogram / Prep / Summer

DECOR: An Outdoor Monogram

Did you forget that I’ve been hard at work with decorating sweat equity out on my back patio?  Truth be told we are nearing completion of the project and I couldn’t be more thrilled!  Ok, let’s be honest, I still have one or two items that may take years to actually get around to doing … but that hasn’t stopped us from popping a seat and enjoying a glass of wine, some Motown tunes and a relaxing summer evening outdoors!

One of our final “to do” items for the space was to add a monogram to the brick wall.  I came up with no less than 20 variations of how I would do this … and all were so sadly over engineered compared to the final project that it is laughable!

outdoor monogram, wooden monogram, Scrappin Plus on etsy, outdoor patio decor, adirondack chair, flagstone patio decor

My goal was to use what I had in the space, and that’s exactly what I did with this project!  I had on hand a bold, classic reverse connected monogram I had purchased previously from Scrappin’Plus on etsy.  In a previous life, this hung on my screened in porch, mounted on a chevron canvas.  While I knew that the canvas wouldn’t survive long if left uncovered in this new space; but I  thought the durable wooden monogram had a good shot.

Ok … I mentioned over engineered versions of the idea … well, those included mounting the monogram to a new and improved board for the most part.  After one failed attempt and two trips to Home Depot … I settled on the most basic, simple option EVER … velcro!  I simply gave the wooden monogram a fresh coat of outdoor spray paint for a little protection, and then just added some fresh “industrial strong” velcro to the back of the monogram.  Seriously … WHY was I making this so difficult???

So far sooooo good!  The monogram has been holding strong for several weeks now and I’ve definitely been doing a happy dance!

Check back real soon for the final reveal (ok … semi-final!).  In the mean time, here’s another look at the idea inspiration.

backyard retreat patio project, diy, flagstone patio, inspiration board, summer project, adirondack, black accents, mason jars, stripes, monogram

And, don’t forget about the polka dot pillows and striped planters I’ve already created for the space (((using items I had on-hand)))!

polka dot pillow, diy project, poms

 

striped planter, recycle an old planter, diy project, black and white planter, patio projects

 

 

bianca

 

 

 

 

Sharing at these great blog link ups; plus Savvy Southern Style and Coastal Charm.

 

5 thoughts on “DECOR: An Outdoor Monogram

  1. Thank you for the mention of my scrappinplus shop on Etsy. I’m glad you are enjoying your monogram and it looks fabulous! You did a great job.

Tell Bianca what you think

