Crafty / DIY / Keepsake / Littles / Seasonal Celebrations / Summer

MAKE: Keepsake Patriotic Handprint Canvas

I know Lil B will only be this little for a short time and I cherish each and every moment of his cute little age of 2.  One day I know that I won’t have much luck convincing him to participate in these sorts of crafts so I take full advantage of making these memories last forever whenever I can.

Last fall I shared our first keepsake canvas over here for Halloween.  Well, we are back with part 2 and a fun, summer keepsake that I’m just smitten with the outcome.  These took seriously only a few minutes to make, can you believe it?

Things are looking a bit patriotic around these parts.  Now, I haven’t put out the porch bunting just yet, but my flags are still dotted here and there and my 5 min floral is holding up just lovely on the back porch table.  There’s no doubting I’m proud to be an American this time of year!

handprint canvas cover

Now that I’ve professed my love of all things little handprint (except on my windows!), and you know I love all things patriotic and seasonal … how about we talk about how to make one of these cuties yourself?

To make a patriotic handprint canvas,  you will need …

  • A little person … or use your own hand prints I suppose?
  • Painters tape
  • Canvas
  • Red spray paint
  • A silver or gold paint pen
  • Finger paint – blue

To make, you simply…

1.  Tape off your canvas.  Using a similar “guide marker” situation as I did on these planters over here, I taped off the canvas in stripes using painter’s tape.

4th canvas

2.  Once taped, give the white parts a good spray of red spray paint.  Be sure to get the sides too!

3.  After the paint has dried (I did this outdoors in June in Georgia … it seriously dried in 5 min!), you are ready to paint the hand prints.

4.  Bestie T and I gave the kids creative license with this step.  I coated Lil B’s hand in aqua color finger paint and started by letting him put hand prints on top of one another to create a star or firework look.  To do this, you just simply rotate the canvas and let you child re-stamp their hand in the same spot multiple times.

5.  After their creative designing is done, let it dry.  You need it 100% dry to complete the next steps.  I was lazy and waited few days but it worked :).

6.  Using a pencil, free hand draw your design.  The “swoopier” (yes, that’s a word?) the letters are the better.  You can always trace over a stencil if you need or apply scrapbook letters.  But, ‘aint nobody got time for that here … so I did it free hand.

7.  Once your words are in draft form, just go over them more decoratively in paint pen.

8.  You can tie a ribbon or bow on it to hang or place on a plate stand on the counter.

I’m sure Bestie T wears thin of the craft ideas I drag her into, but she was roped into this one as well.  Since I had all the supplies on hand (score!), I could be found in the cul de sac street spray painting the canvases recently during a craftapalooza style Saturday of projects.  Bestie T’s littles did a nice job of listening to the design inspiration we set out.  Their canvas looks like a flag and it just darling.  One look at it and I knew a bold “Land of the Free” was the perfect patriotic slogan to fill the striped space.

4th canvas land of free

Lil B did his own creative blue painting and as I went to spin the canvas (to create something like above), he dipped both hands in the blue paint and went  to town touching the canvas all over.  Well… I went with it and we ended with something that looked more like fireworks on the 4th of July.  His free little spirit is all boy and there was no stopping him with this paint (sigh ….).  Since the design was busy, I added a longer saying over the entire canvas and I’m pleased as punch with how it turned out.

4th canvas fireworks

Lil B’s patriotic fireworks display is hanging on a ribbon on the garage door.  Every time we enter he shows it to me and explains how he did it.  Be still my heart.

bianca

 

 

 

 

Sharing at: Memories by the Mile, A Stroll Thru LifeSmart SchoolhouseThrifty HomeStone GableElizabeth & CoSomeday CraftsSavvy Southern Style, Coastal Charm, DIY Showoff Huckleberry Love, I Should Be Mopping the FloorRomantic HomeThe Shabby NestFrom My Front Porch To YoursThe Turquoise Home, Up to Date InteriorsFrench Country Cottage Redoux InteriorsLiz MarieChica on a ShoestringWhipperberryJust Us FourThe Remodelaholic,Miss Mustard SeedJennifer RizzoIvy and ElephantsHope StudiosThe Stichin MommyAnswer is ChocolateHappy and Blessed HomeArtsy Fartsy MamaA Glimpse InsideLiving Well Spending LessA Handful of EverythingJust us FourUpcycle TreasuresSweet Bellaroos

 

3 thoughts on “MAKE: Keepsake Patriotic Handprint Canvas

  1. Pingback: DO: 4th of July Round Up | being bianca

Tell Bianca what you think

